Stomping Grounds

Study abroad is important because you experience so many things that you wouldn’t otherwise be able to. I’ve learned more about myself than I was expecting to in my five weeks in Europe. Being immersed in a new culture is a huge part of studying abroad, but I felt myself growing during this trip, and I think that is the most important thing I will take home with me.

803707562_7186139405134143620

I learned not to sweat the small stuff. I learned to make this experience about me, and only me, not to let anything take away from my time here. I’ve always been independent, but here I learned that I really can do things on my own. Being in unfamiliar surroundings with people you don’t know that well (at first) showed me that pretty quickly.

UNH is my second home, but coming to Ascoli Piceno really changed my undergrad experience. I was able to meet people I otherwise probably wouldn’t have, and I was able to make a small Italian city my stomping grounds, even if just for a little while. I’m thankful for being able to learn about the Italian culture and about myself in such a short period of time, and I wouldn’t give up my time here for the world. It truly gave me a new outlook on life, and there’s nothing more important than self-growth.

Leave a Reply

